Skip to content

Carabao Cup live on Sky: Derby vs Barrow, Walsall vs Sheff Wed, Brentford vs Wycombe

First-round games provide first English domestic football of the new season live on Sky Sports

A view of the Carabao Cup pitch side at Stamford Bridge ahead of Chelsea vs Man Utd

The Carabao Cup first round will see the first English domestic football of the new season aired live on Sky Sports when newly-promoted Barrow visit Derby on September 5.

The three matches selected for live coverage on the first-round weekend are as follows:

  • Sat Sept 5 - Derby vs Barrow 12pm
  • Sat Sept 5 - Walsall vs Sheff Wed 2:15pm
  • Sun Sept 6 - Brentford vs Wycombe 12pm

Also in the first round, Harrogate - who were promoted to the Football League for the first time in their history earlier this month - will make their debut in the Carabao Cup at Prenton Park, where they will take on Tranmere.

There are several ties between former Premier League clubs, including Bolton hosting Bradford, with both sides now in League Two.

Stoke have been drawn at home to Blackpool, Sunderland will play Hull, Barnsley will host Nottingham Forest in an all-Championship affair and Charlton travel to Swindon.

The first round of the Carabao Cup is due to be played on the weekend of September 5/6, although this is also an international weekend, so some games may be rearranged.

Round One draw, Northern section

  • Tranmere vs Harrogate
  • Crewe vs Lincoln
  • Walsall vs Sheffield Wednesday
  • Rochdale vs Huddersfield
  • Preston vs Mansfield
  • Bolton vs Bradford
  • Blackburn vs Doncaster
  • Stoke vs Blackpool
  • Fleetwood vs Wigan
  • Grimsby vs Morecambe
  • Middlesbrough vs Shrewsbury
  • Derby vs Barrow
  • Scunthorpe vs Port Vale
  • Sunderland vs Hull
  • Burton vs Accrington
  • Salford vs Rotherham
  • Barnsley vs Nottingham Forest
  • Oldham vs Carlisle

Round One draw, Southern section

  • Bristol City vs Exeter
  • Plymouth vs QPR
  • Swindon vs Charlton
  • Forest Green vs Leyton Orient
  • MK Dons vs Coventry
  • Crawley vs Millwall
  • Stevenage vs Portsmouth
  • Peterborough vs Cheltenham
  • Brentford vs Wycombe
  • Northampton vs Cardiff
  • Luton vs Norwich
  • Birmingham vs Cambridge
  • Newport vs Swansea
  • Oxford vs AFC Wimbledon
  • Reading vs Colchester
  • Gillingham vs Southend
  • Ipswich vs Bristol Rovers

Here's all you need to know about the first domestic cup of the new season...

Also See:

When do the Premier League sides enter the competition?

All Premier League sides not involved in European competition in 2020/21 - so every team except Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Chelsea, Leicester, Tottenham and Arsenal - will enter in round two.

Will the teams involved in Europe miss out this year?

No. It was mooted in the press that the teams playing in next season's Champions League and Europa League may withdraw from the 2020/21 Carabao Cup in order to avoid fixture congestion, however this was never agreed officially.

What has changed with the shortened season?

In the Carabao Cup, not a lot. The only difference you will notice apart from a lack of fans (for now at least) is the two-legged semi-finals have now been knocked down into one-off games.

Have you opted into Sky Bet Club?
Have you opted into Sky Bet Club?

Opt in and bet £25 or more before 23:59 on Sunday to earn a free £5. Free bets will credited by 7pm on Monday.

Around Sky