Sergio Ramos escapes UEFA charge for Loris Karius clash in Champions League final

 during the UEFA Champions League Final between Real Madrid and Liverpool at NSC Olimpiyskiy Stadium on May 26, 2018 in Kiev, Ukraine.
Image: Sergio Ramos has won three successive Champions League titles since being appointed Real Madrid captain

Sergio Ramos has avoided disciplinary action from UEFA for his off-the-ball clash with Loris Karius in Saturday's Champions League final.

The Real Madrid captain struck Liverpool's goalkeeper in the head with his right elbow during a Real Madrid attack.

Replays also appeared to show Ramos being pushed in Karius' direction by Liverpool defender Virgil van Dijk.

Loris Karius during the UEFA Champions League final between Real Madrid and Liverpool on May 26, 2018 in Kiev, Ukraine.
Image: Karius went on to make two costly errors that contributed to Liverpool's defeat

UEFA has a rule which allows cases to be opened for cases of serious misconduct that were not seen by match officials, but they said the rule "is not applied in this case."

UEFA added that "no other protest has been lodged."

Also See:

Ramos angered Liverpool - and Egypt - fans earlier in the game when he challenged Mohamed Salah, forcing him to leave the pitch in tears during the first half.

World Cup Super 6

World Cup Super 6

Could you be the next Super 6 winner? Enter your predictions for free here.

Around Sky