Skip to content

Referee correct to consult VAR in England vs Italy, says Dennis Wise

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

Dennis Wise thinks the referee made the right call in awarding Italy a penalty against England after using VAR

Former Chelsea midfielder Dennis Wise believes Italy were correctly awarded a penalty against England following a video assistant referee (VAR) review.

England had looked on course for a second straight 1-0 victory after Jamie Vardy's 27th-minute strike put them ahead at Wembley.

But in the closing minutes, referee Deniz Aytekin consulted a pitchside monitor after Burnley defender James Tarkowski appeared to foul Federico Chiesa inside the box. Replays showed the defender had stepped on the Italian's foot.

Vardy complains of VAR confusion
Vardy complains of VAR confusion

Jamie Vardy insists there are still teething issues with VAR and that "no-one knows what is going on" when it is used.

Lorenzo Insigne converted the subsequent penalty to make it 1-1, though the Italian players did not appear to appeal, with the referee initially giving a corner, but Wise insists Aytekin got the decision right.

Wise told Premier League Daily: "The referee has seen some infringement there so therefore took it upon himself or his assistants advised him that he needed to look at it.

"When you actually looked at it, unfortunately, it did look like it was a penalty to me."

He added: "James Tarkowski has trod on the centre forward's foot and has interrupted him going forward. Therefore, for me, it was a penalty."

Also See:

England Manager Gareth Southgate during a press conference at Enfield Training Ground
Image: England Manager Gareth Southgate says the penalty decision was 'not clear and obvious'

Gareth Southgate thought the incident may not have warranted a referral and said there are still improvements to be made with VAR before the World Cup.

"I don't think tonight's was clear and obvious. So that needs some clarity before the World Cup," Southgate said.

Tarkowski added: "He didn't give it originally so he didn't believe it was a penalty either. I did touch him but I was just in my running pattern, rather than trying to run the ball or make a tackle."

Could you win the next Super 6 jackpot?
Could you win the next Super 6 jackpot?

There's a triple header of Super 6 over the Easter weekend. Enter your predictions here.

Around Sky