Five Manchester City players in PFA Premier League Team of Year

PFA Premier League team of the year
Image: Marcos Alonso, Harry Kane and Kevin De Bruyne feature in the PFA Premier League Team of the Year

Five Manchester City players have been named in the Professional Footballers' Association Premier League Team of the Year.

Sergio Aguero, Kevin De Bruyne, Nicolas Otamendi, David Silva and Kyle Walker have all been included after Pep Guardiola's side clinched the Premier League title with five games to spare.

Tottenham were the only other team to have more than one representative, boasting three players in defender Jan Vertonghen, midfielder Christian Eriksen and striker Harry Kane.

Live Premier League

Manchester United's only inclusion was goalkeeper David de Gea, while left-back Marcos Alonso was the sole player from dethroned champions Chelsea.

Liverpool's Mohamed Salah, with 30 league goals this season, was also included.

There was, though, no recognition for any Burnley players, despite the Clarets enjoying a fine season and challenging Arsenal for sixth place, which could yet see them secure European qualification.

David Silva and Kevin De Bruyne celebrate Manchester City's Carabao Cup final win over Arsenal
Image: David Silva (left) and De Bruyne have also been nominated for PFA player of the year

City duo De Bruyne and Silva are shortlisted for the PFA's player of the year award, along with team-mate Leroy Sane.

Also See:

Kane, Salah and De Gea are also nominated, with the winner set to be announced at the PFA's annual awards ceremony in London on Sunday, April 22.

PFA Premier League Team of the Year: David de Gea, Kyle Walker, Jan Vertonghen, Nicolas Otamendi, Marcos Alonso, David Silva, Kevin De Bruyne, Christian Eriksen, Mohamed Salah, Harry Kane, Sergio Aguero.

Play Super 6 for £250k

Play Super 6 for £250k

Could you be the next Super 6 jackpot winner? Enter your predictions for free here.

Around Sky