Adrian says he is lucky Diego Costa tackle in Chelsea win over West Ham did not cause serious injury
By James Dale
Last Updated: 16/08/16 6:35pm
West Ham goalkeeper Adrian has said he is lucky not to have been seriously injured after he was fouled by Diego Costa in the defeat to Chelsea on Monday Night Football.
Costa had already been booked when he fouled Adrian in the second half and although referee Anthony Taylor awarded a free-kick, he did not produce a second yellow card.
The Chelsea forward then went on to score an 89th-minute winner to secure a 2-1 victory for his side in Antonio Conte's first Premier League match.
WATCH: Costa lucky to avoid red?
Jamie Carragher and Gary Neville felt Diego Costa should have been sent off against West Ham
Adrian has now responded to the incident by posting an image depicting Costa's high tackle with the hashtag '#fairplay', and expressing his relief at not sustaining more serious damage.
The West Ham goalkeeper said on Twitter: "Disappointed about last night!! Thank God my leg is okay after that, could have been much…"
Costa, 27, scored just 12 Premier League goals last season after scoring 20 in his first season and with Chelsea signing forward Michy Batshuayi for £33m in the summer, it was thought Costa's first-team place may be at risk.
However, the Spanish forward started Conte's first league game in charge and his goal could help him keep his place in the side for their trip to Watford on Saturday.