Why Ronaldo's not on 400 goals for Real Madrid... yet
By Peter Smith
Last Updated: 03/05/17 1:48pm
Cristiano Ronaldo's hat-trick heroics against Atletico Madrid have caused some confusion.
The Real Madrid forward hit his seventh Champions League treble in the semi-final, first-leg on Tuesday, to hand his side a commanding advantage over their city rivals.
The goals saw Ronaldo bring up several other landmarks, too.
He's now scored more goals in Champions League knockout games (52) than in group stage fixtures (51), for instance, while his 103 Champions League goals are more than Atletico's total of 100.
But Real Madrid then posted on their official Twitter account another milestone for the Portuguese: the club stated his hat-trick had taken him to 400 goals for Real Madrid.
That post contrasted with official records which show he's 'only' scored 399.
So what's happened?
The root of the discrepancy stretches back to September 2010 and a 2-1 Real Madrid win over Real Sociedad.
In the match, Ronaldo took a 74th-minute free-kick, which deflected in off team-mate Pepe. Officially, the goal was awarded to the defender - but Real Madrid gave it to Ronaldo.
Even Pepe agreed it should be Ronaldo's goal, telling Marca: "Regardless of what the official match report says, the goal belongs to Cristiano."
But rules are rules. And, for now, Ronaldo is on 399 goals for Real Madrid.