Skip to content

Zinedine Zidane defends Cristiano Ronaldo after red card in Super Cup

Cristiano Ronaldo reacts to a red card for simulation during the Spanish Super Cup Final, 1st Leg
Image: Cristiano Ronaldo was shown a red card late on in the Super Cup

Zinedine Zidane said the decision to send off Cristiano Ronaldo in Real Madrid's 3-1 Spanish Super Cup win over Barcelona was "ludicrous".

Substitute Ronaldo restored Real's first-leg lead with a brilliant effort from range 10 minutes from time, but was sent off two minutes later after picking up a second yellow card for diving after going down under pressure from Samuel Umtiti.

To compound matters, the Portugal international then pushed referee Ricardo de Burgos Bengoetxea after being shown a red card.

Gerard Pique's own goal had put Real ahead after a low-key first half, but in a frantic finish Lionel Messi equalised from the spot before Ronaldo struck, with Marco Asensio grabbing a last-minute third for the 10 men.

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

After scoring a stunning goal for Real Madrid, Cristiano Ronaldo then received a second yellow card for diving and pushed the referee before leaving the pitch

Real Madrid head coach Zidane said: "I'm annoyed that Cristiano Ronaldo was sent off, it might not have been a penalty, but still, giving him a card is ludicrous.

"Let's see if we can make arrangements for him to be available on Wednesday [the second leg]. I am truly proud of my players, they played well as 10 and really wanted the win. Now we turn our attentions to the return leg and we need to relax".

Real skipper Sergio Ramos said of the second booking: "I was far away, but I think it was a piece of play in which (Ronaldo) lost his balance, rather than feigning anything.

Also See:

"It could be appealed. Sending off a key player with 10 minutes remaining of a Clasico in which we've given our all is something which needs to be evaluated and thought about."

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

Watch highlights from the first leg of the Spanish Super Cup as Real Madrid beat Barcelona 3-1

Barcelona's penalty was awarded after Luis Suarez was brought down by goalkeeper Keylor Navas, and Ramos also took issue with that decision.

"In no moment was it a penalty," added the defender. "I will need to watch it and evaluate it because I don't think the referee would blow for an action in which there was nothing there, knowing that he could be mistaken.

"My feeling was that it wasn't (a penalty)."

The two sides will play the second leg at the Bernabeu on Wednesday.

Around Sky