Skip to content

Carabao Cup final 2020/21: Date, teams, kick-off time, live on Sky Sports

Carabao Cup final initially had been scheduled for February 28 but now set to be played on April 25; Tottenham beat Brentford to reach Wembley; Man City reach fourth successive final

Pep Guardiola lifts the Carabao Cup trophy after Man City's  victory over Aston Villa in March 2020
Image: Pep Guardiola lifts the Carabao Cup trophy after Man City's victory over Aston Villa in March 2020

Tottenham have booked their place in the 2020/21 Carabao Cup final where they will face holders Manchester City. Here's all you need to know about the Wembley showdown in April.

When is the Carabao Cup final?

The 2020/2021 Carabao Cup final will be played on Sunday, April 25, with kick off at 4pm.

The match had initially been scheduled for February 28 but has been pushed back in the hope that more supporters will be able to attend.

Where will it take place?

Moussa Sissoko celebrates putting Spurs ahead in the Carabao Cup semi-final
Image: Moussa Sissoko celebrates Spurs' opener against Brentford in the Carabao Cup semi-final

The final is currently set to take place at Wembley.

Tottenham, who beat Brentford 2-0 in their semi-final, will take on either Manchester United or holders Manchester City.

How can I watch it?

The game will be live on Sky Sports. You will also be able to follow the action with a live blog on the Sky Sports website and app, as well as watching free match highlights after full-time.

Will fans be able to attend?

Yes - it was confirmed at the start of April that the final would be a test event for the return of fans to stadiums and would be attended by up to 8,000 spectators.

Also See:

Tickets will be available to fans of both Man City and Spurs, as well as residents of the area surrounding Wembley and NHS workers for the game.

The EFL, which runs the Carabao Cup, says information on ticketing will be made available at a later date.

VAR - and more subs for final

Video Assistant Referees will be used in the final, as in the semi-finals.

The EFL has also agreed to increase the number of substitutes permitted.

Nine substitutes can now be named in the matchday squad, with five permitted to take to the pitch during the 90 minutes and extra-time if applicable.

Each team is only permitted a maximum of three opportunities (excluding half-time, full-time and half-time of extra-time) to make substitutions during normal time. However, if a tie goes to extra-time, an additional opportunity to use a substitute(s) will also be permitted but only from the five substitutes allowed.

New incentive - Europa Conference League

This season's tournament winners will enter a new European competition - the UEFA Europa Conference League (UECL).

UEFA's third-tier tournament starts next season, with the Carabao Cup winners to enter at the play-off stage. Matches will be played on Thursdays.

If the Carabao Cup winners qualify for Europe through their Premier League position instead, then the sixth-placed team in the Premier League - or seventh place if the FA Cup is also won by a top-six team - will go into the UECL play-offs.

There will still be at four English teams in the Champions League and two in the Europa League.

Clubs that lose in the play-off round of the Europa League will drop into the Europa Conference League group stage, while clubs who finish third in their Europa League group would also see their European adventure extended; they would drop to the UECL in the knockout stage.

Win £250,000 for free with Super 6!
Win £250,000 for free with Super 6!

Do not miss your chance to land the £250,000 in Saturday's Super 6 round. Play for free, entries by 3:00pm.

Around Sky