Skip to content

Carabao Cup to kick off EFL season; first four rounds to be played in September

Two-legged semi-finals scrapped; Sky Sports News to host first-round draw on August 18

A view of the Carabao Cup pitch side at Stamford Bridge ahead of Chelsea vs Man Utd

The Carabao Cup will kick off the 2020/21 EFL season, with the first four rounds of the tournament to be played in September.

First-round fixtures are scheduled to take place on September 5 but could be moved due to potential clashes with international fixtures.

Rounds two, three and four will then be played on consecutive midweeks, starting on September 15/16.

Premier League sides will enter the Carabao Cup at either round two or three, depending on their 2019/20 league placing.

Manchester City players celebrate with the trophy after winning the Carabao Cup Final
Image: Manchester City have won the Carabao Cup for the last three seasons

The draw for round one will take place on Sky Sports News on August 18. As with last season, it will be divided into northern and southern sections and will be unseeded.

The EFL has also confirmed two-legged semi-finals will no longer be played in the competition, with one-off matches determining which teams reach the final.

The sides drawn first in each semi-final will host the tie.

Also See:

Manchester City have won the last three Carabao Cups, with their most recent success coming courtesy of a 2-1 victory over Aston Villa in March.

Carabao Cup 2020/21 Schedule:

  • Round one: September 5
  • Round two: September 15/16
  • Round three: September 22/23
  • Round four: September 29/30
  • Round five: December 22/23
  • Semi-finals: January 5/6
  • Final: February 28
Have you opted into Sky Bet Club?
Have you opted into Sky Bet Club?

Opt in and bet £25 or more before 23:59 on Sunday to earn a free £5. Free bets will credited by 7pm on Monday.

Around Sky