Skip to content

Ruben Dias: Manchester City defender wins Premier League Player of the Season award

Ruben Dias wins Premier League Player of the Year award after leading Man City to the title in his debut season following transfer from Benfica; Pep Guardiola named Manager of the Season; Phil Foden claims Young Player of the Season award

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

Ruben Dias has had a stellar first season at Man City, see why he's won the award here

Champions Manchester City dominated the Premier League end-of-season awards with Ruben Dias, Phil Foden and Pep Guardiola all picking up prizes for the 2020/21 campaign.

Dias was named the Premier League Player of the Season, while team-mate Phil Foden claimed the award for the Young Player of the Season and City boss Guardiola was picked as the Manager of the Season.

Tottenham's Erik Lamela won the Premier League Goal of the Season award for his spectacular Rabona in the north London derby.

Dias completes an individual award double after winning the Football Writers' Association award in May, beating his City team-mate Kevin De Bruyne - who won the Premier League Player of the Season award last season - and Tottenham striker Harry Kane to the honour.

All three were on the shortlist for the Premier League's best player award, alongside Manchester United midfielder Bruno Fernandes, Aston Villa's Jack Grealish, and Liverpool forward Mohamed Salah.

West Ham midfielder Tomas Soucek and Chelsea's Mason Mount were also nominated.


After joining from Benfica last summer for £65m, Dias made 32 league appearances for Man City this season, scoring one goal and helping his side register 15 clean sheets when he played.

Also See:

His partnership with John Stones at the heart of Guardiola's defence, which conceded only 32 goals in total in the league, played a key part in City's Premier League triumph.

After just one win in their first three league games, Dias' increasing influence in the side helped them go on a staggering 21-game win streak in all competitions, including 15 successive victories in the Premier League.

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

Peter Shilton believes Manchester City's Phil Foden could make an impact for England at this summer's Euros similar to that of Paul Gascoigne at Italia 90.

Foden picked up the award for Young Player of the Season ahead of City team-mate Dias, who was already nominated, as well as Dominic Calvert-Lewin, Illan Meslier, Marcus Rashford, Mason Mount, Declan Rice and Bukayo Saka.

The 21-year-old was involved in 14 Premier League goals in 17 starts and 11 substitute appearances across the campaign as he established himself as a key member of the City midfield following the departure of David Silva.

Foden becomes the second recipient of the award, presented to the best player aged 23 or younger, after Liverpool's Trent Alexander-Arnold won the prize last season.

Pep Guardiola is pictured during Man City's title celebrations at the Etihad Stadium (AP)
Image: Pep Guardiola has won three Premier League titles in four seasons at Man City

Guardiola beat off competition from Leeds manager Marcelo Bielsa, West Ham's David Moyes, Leicester City boss Brendan Rodgers and Manchester United's Ole Gunnar Solskjaer to win his managerial award.

The Spaniard guided City to their fifth Premier League title and his third in four seasons in England.

Guardiola's team boasted the most goals scored (83) and the least goals conceded (32) across the campaign and produced a remarkable 15-match winning streak mid-season.

Win £250,000 with Super 6!
Win £250,000 with Super 6!

Keep an eye out for our return during Euro 2021. Play for free to win the £250,000 jackpot prize!

Around Sky