Skip to content

Women's World Cup 2023: Teams, schedule, fixtures, matches and dates for Australia and New Zealand tournament

Women's World Cup 2023 takes place in Australia and New Zealand from July 20 to August 20; first Women’s World Cup to feature 32 teams competing in eight groups; England in Group D; Republic of Ireland in Group B alongside hosts Australia

FILE - In this July 7, 2019, file photo, the United States players hold the trophy as they celebrate winning the Women's World Cup final soccer match against The Netherlands at the Stade de Lyon in Decines, outside Lyon, France. FIFA has received bids from Brazil, Japan, Colombia and a joint bid from Australia and New Zealand to host the 2023 Women's World Cup on Friday, Dec. 13, 2019. (AP Photo/Francisco Seco, File)

England are through to the final of the Women's World Cup in Australia and New Zealand. Here's all you need to know...

When and where is the 2023 Women's World Cup?

This year's tournament is taking place in Australia and New Zealand, making it the first co-hosted Women's World Cup.

The tournament began on July 20, with the final taking place on August 20 in Sydney at the Accor Stadium.

The USA are the defending champions but were knocked out by Sweden in the round of 16.

Who qualified?

This Women's World Cup is the first to feature 32 teams, after the previous edition in 2019 saw 24 countries compete.

  • Australia (co-hosts)
  • New Zealand (co-hosts)
  • China (AFC)
  • Japan (AFC)
  • Philippines (AFC)
  • South Korea (AFC)
  • Vietnam (AFC)
  • Morocco (CAF)
  • Nigeria (CAF)
  • South Africa (CAF)
  • Zambia (CAF)
  • Canada (CONCACAF)
  • Costa Rica (CONCACAF)
  • Haiti (CONCACAF)
  • Jamaica (CONCACAF)
  • Panama (CONCACAF)
  • United States (CONCACAF)
  • Argentina (CONMEBOL)
  • Brazil (CONMEBOL)
  • Colombia (CONMEBOL)
  • Denmark (UEFA)
  • England (UEFA)
  • France (UEFA)
  • Germany (UEFA)
  • Italy (UEFA)
  • Netherlands (UEFA)
  • Norway (UEFA)
  • Portugal (UEFA)
  • Republic of Ireland (UEFA)
  • Spain (UEFA)
  • Sweden (UEFA)
  • Switzerland (UEFA)

Haiti, Portugal and Panama qualified for the final three places after winning their respective groups at the inter-confederation play-off tournament in February.

What is the schedule?

The group stages began on July 20, run over a two-week period finishing on August 3, and see group winners and runners-up progress to the round of 16, which takes place from August 5 to August 8.

Also See:

The quarter-finals, which will be held in Wellington, Auckland, Brisbane and Sydney, are scheduled for August 11 and 12.

The first semi-final will then be played on August 15 in Auckland, with the other semi-final taking place on August 16 at the Accor Stadium in Sydney, which will then host the final on August 20.

A third-place play-off will be played the day before the final on August 19 in Brisbane.

Results, fixtures and tables

Jill Ellis coached the USA to victory at the 2019 Women's World Cup (AP)
Image: The United States are the defending Women's World Cup champions

The 32 teams were divided into four pots, based on the FIFA Women's World Rankings as of October 13.

Pot One contained both co-hosts Australia and New Zealand, along with the six highest-ranked teams, including England and defending champions USA, while the Republic of Ireland were in Pot Three.

With the exception of UEFA, teams from the same confederation could not be drawn in the same group.

Group A



Group B



Group C



Group D



Group E




Group F



Group G



Group H




World Cup schedule by day

All times UK BST

July 20

Group A: New Zealand 1-0 Norway
Group B: Australia 1-0 Republic of Ireland

July 21

Group B: Nigeria 0-0 Canada
Group A: Philippines 0-2 Switzerland
Group C: Spain 3-0 Costa Rica

July 22

Group E: USA 3-0 Vietnam
Group C: Zambia 0-5 Japan
Group D: England 1-0 Haiti
Group D: Denmark 1-0 China

July 23

Group G: Sweden 2-1 South Africa
Group E: Netherlands 1-0 Portugal
Group F: France 0-0 Jamaica

July 24

Group G: Italy 1-0 Argentina
Group H: Germany 6-0 Morocco
Group F: Brazil 4-0 Panama

July 25

Group H: Colombia 2-0 South Korea
Group A: New Zealand 0-1 Philippines
Group A: Switzerland 0-0 Norway

July 26

Group C: Japan 2-0 Costa Rica
Group C: Spain 5-0 Zambia
Group B: Canada 2-1 Republic of Ireland

July 27

Group E: USA 1-1 Netherlands
Group E: Portugal 2-0 Vietnam
Group B: Australia 2-3 Nigeria

July 28

Group G: Argentina 2-2 South Africa
Group D: England 1-0 Denmark
Group D: China 1-0 Haiti

July 29

Group G: Sweden 5-0 Italy
Group F: France 2-1 Brazil
Group F: Panama 0-1 Jamaica

July 30

Group H: South Korea 0-1 Morocco
Group H: Germany 1-2 Colombia
Group A: Norway 6-0 Philippines
Group A: Switzerland 0-0 New Zealand

July 31

Group C: Japan 4-0 Spain
Group C: Costa Rica 1-3 Zambia
Group B: Republic of Ireland 0-0 Nigeria
Group B: Canada 0-4 Australia

August 1

Group E: Vietnam 0-7 Netherlands
Group E: Portugal 0-0 USA
Group D: China 1-6 England
Group D: Haiti 0-2 Denmark

August 2

Group G: Argentina 0-2 Sweden
Group G: South Africa 3-2 Italy
Group F: Panama 3-6 France
Group F: Jamaica 0-0 Brazil

August 3

Group H: Morocco 1-0 Colombia
Group H: South Korea 1-1 Germany

Round of 16

August 5

Switzerland 1-5 Spain
Japan 3-1 Norway

August 6

Netherlands 2-0 South Africa
Sweden 0-0 USA (5-4 on penalties)

August 7

England 0-0 Nigeria (4-2 on penalties)
Australia 2-0 Denmark

August 8

Colombia 1-0 Jamaica
France 4-0 Morocco


August 11

Spain 2-1 Netherlands (AET)
Japan 1-2 Sweden

August 12

Australia 0-0 France (7-6 on penalties)
England 2-1 Colombia


August 15

Spain 2-1 Sweden

August 16

Australia 1-3 England

Third Place Match

August 19

Australia vs Sweden, kick-off 9am


August 20

Spain vs England, kick-off 11am

What are the venues?

SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - APRIL 13: a general view of ANZ Stadium at round 25 of the Hyundai A-League Soccer between Western Sydney Wanderers and Sydney FC on April 13, 2019 at ANZ Stadium in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Speed Media/Icon Sportswire) (Icon Sportswire via AP Images)
Image: Sydney's Accor Stadium will host the Women's World Cup 2023 final

There are nine host cities, five in Australia and four in New Zealand:


  • Sydney - Accor Stadium and Allianz Stadium
  • Brisbane - Suncorp Stadium
  • Melbourne - AAMI Park
  • Perth - HBF Park
  • Adelaide - Hindmarsh Stadium

New Zealand

  • Auckland - Eden Park
  • Wellington - Sky Stadium
  • Dunedin - Forsyth Barr Stadium
  • Hamilton - Waikato Stadium
Win £1,000,000 with Super 6!
Win £1,000,000 with Super 6!

Super 6 is back for the 23/24 season with £1,000,000 on the line and more ways to win. Play for free.

Win £1,000,000 with Super 6!
Win £1,000,000 with Super 6!

Super 6 is back for the 23/24 season with £1,000,000 on the line and more ways to win. Play for free.

Around Sky